Small Woodland Owners' Group

beehives

Camp fires, shelters, wild food, making things, children and more....

beehives

Postby splodger » Fri Dec 06, 2013 5:03 pm

anybody know anything about beekeeping?

i picked up a load of hive components today - enough to set up a couple of hives i think - all needs a damn good clean and a fair bit of patching up - but worth the effort. so if anybody is a font of beekeeping knowledge - imay need your help in the future

also got some nursery hives/boxes - which are really quite attractive - just wondered whether they would be ok for bumbles instead of honey bees - as we get loads in the woods - but badger usually finds them - would they use a small hive do you think? (the bees not the badgers)
splodger

Re: beehives

Postby Dexter's Shed » Fri Dec 06, 2013 5:48 pm

Hi splodger, wouldn't say I'm an expert, but I am a beekeeper, get some pictures up of what you have an I'll give it my best shot at identifying, I am currently cleaning up four commercial hives and clearing an area in our woods to site an out apiary,
Dexter's Shed

Postby splodger » Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:46 pm

it's all pretty old stuff - not actually sure if any of it will be any good - but i'll have a good go at trying to revamp them
there are loads of trays - but i'll have to get fresh foundation sheets (i think that's what it's called)
i know there are a couple of bases, falling to bits - so i might need to make new ones - there are a couple of supers (think that's what they're called - in reasonable nick, plenty of brood chambers and trays, a few mesh sheets plus at least one wired bit (to block the queen) roof sections (felted) there's also a section that carries alternative to trays (small boxes for honeycomb)

it all might be a bit too far gone to use - i'll take some pics when i unload it all ;)

but it's the dinky nursery boxes that i love most of all - and they are mostly up together - just need a damn good clean /sterilise
splodger