Small Woodland Owners' Group

Unhealthy trees - advice please

Trees and Plants!

Unhealthy trees - advice please

Postby woodlady » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:46 pm

I am a complete newbie and having purchased a small woodland only last year, I apologise in advance for displaying my ignorance by asking this question….. The trees are round 25 years old but many have been ravaged by squirrels, particularly the beech and oak. I am taking steps to try to control the squirrels but many, many of the tree branches are so damaged they are just breaking off and taking out much of the canopy with it. On the worst trees there are not many branches or canopy left (mainly the oak) but I notice they are still trying to fight for life and push out new shoots from the remaining branches …..so before all the damaged branches fall and the tree maybe dies, would it be best to coppice or pollard the worst ones now, so that at least the tree might have a chance to survive? I should say that I only want the woodland to be for both our own enjoyment and that of the natural habitat (apart from the squirrels, that is!), so I am not bothered about getting good quality timber. There is already quite a bit of standing deadwood so I’d rather keep these trees alive if possible plus if I lose the Ash to Chalara as well, I won’t have a woodland left. Any advice would really be appreciated as I don’t want to do the wrong thing.
woodlady

Re: Unhealthy trees - advice please

Postby The Barrowers » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:51 pm

Hello
It cant be all as bad as you are making it sound
How big is the wood and what area of the country?
B and T
The Barrowers
The Barrowers

Postby woodlady » Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 pm

Hello The Barrowers,