Small Woodland Owners' Group

Questions to ask at viewing?

Topics that don't easily fit anywhere else!

Postby Kentish Man » Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:04 pm

Hi there - I think I'm going to pluck up the courage soon and arrange a viewing of some woodlands for sale. As a complete newbie to the idea of owning a small woodland, what are some of the questions you would ask - perhaps with some of those things, as woodland owners you would have like to have known in hindsight.

I can think of the following so far:

1. Freehold / Leasehold?

2. Any coppicing or felling to take place before sale completes?

3. Any TPO's in effect?

4. Any diseases present in the trees?

5. How old are the standards?

6. What is the age range of the coppice and is the woodland divided into ranges?

7. Who are the owners of the woods and the fields surrounding the woodland?

8. Who owns the mineral rights in the land?

9. Does the woodland come with any conditions or covenents attached?

10. Has there ever been any flooding in the area?

11. Has there ever been any illegal timber felling in the area?

12. Are there any rights of way or other public access to the woodland?

13. What species of trees are there?

14. What animals have been spotted in the woodland?

15. Who is responsible for maintaining the woodland access track to the wood?

16. Are there any problems with deer / squirrels?

17. What is the soil type?

Thanks in advance!

Kentish Man

Postby tracy » Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:50 pm

They look like interesting questions. Remember that you will need to go and look at the wood first, on your own. That will give you a good chance to mooch about.

On soil types, watch this

http://www.woodlandstv.co.uk/videos/watch/34/simple-soil-tests-in-your-woodland

A very good way to test it yourself.

Deer and squirrel are likely to be in any wood - and so are some tree diseases.

Biggest question to ask yourself: Do I like the wood? Can you see yourself in it, enjoying it? That is the most important thing.